Delhi MCD Election Results Live BJP Win 2017

Delhi MCD Election Results Live: Kejriwal congratulates BJP on sweeping all three corporations in capital

The BJP will rule Delhi’s civic bodies for the next five years after the party retained by huge margins, all the three civic bodies in the crucial Delhi MCD elections 2017. The results come three days after voting took place in 270 wards across the three civic bodies – North Delhi Municipal Corporation, South Delhi Municipal Corporation and the East Delhi Municipal Corporation.

While Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party was spurned by Delhi and came a distant second, Ajay Maken of the Congress party announced that he is stepping down as the party’s chief in Delhi. The overall turnout was recorded at 54 per cent, almost the same as the 2012 elections. Other parties which contested the election also include Swaraj India, the political arm of Swaraj Abhiyan – co-founded by activists Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan.

The BJP has swept polls in all three municipal bodies in the national capital, dealing a crushing defeat to the AAP and the Congress party. Stay with us for live updates:

While Kejriwal refrained from mentioning EVMs, his AAP colleagues minced no words.

AAP leader Ashutosh said: “Most of the EVMs were malfunctioning. It was not possible that the votes were going to the BJP when AAP has done a lot for education and healthcare in Delhi.”

Arvind Kejriwal tweets: I congratulate BJP on their victory in all 3 MCDs. My government looks forward to working with MCDs for the betterment of Delhi

Updated: April 26, 2017 — 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *